Blog Post 10

Standard peripherals like scanners and the like I imagine I would use pretty commonly. Possibly something like a digital camera very occasionally. I don’t think I will use much more beyond that. The computer is a powerful enough tool that few other tools would really be necessary. While you want to keep your information and your presentation fresh and interesting, I think there are dangers with relying too much on the technology to present the information for you.

http://www.skype.com/en/

The most likely web based resource for me to use would be something like Skype or another web based video chat program. This would allow me to work with students on homework outside of regular office hours. Obviously not every night or anything like that, but it could be very useful for specific examples, or specific problems that would arise while working homework sets.

Skype is a fairly reliable program that allows for a lot of sharing. Not only the video and audio aspects, but also easy file sharing and realtime chat functions that could allow me to assist students. As stated before, I would want to set certain hours for that sort of thing, but I think it would be a very helpful resource for those struggling with difficult problems.

Excel programs are excellent when dealing with data sets. I would use Excel on a fairly regular basis to deal with experimental data, as well as to keep up with statistics within my classroom and student group. It is a useful tool both for teaching and for my own record keeping.

The powerpoint 1 assignment was interesting. The actual powerpoint assignment wasn’t anything I hadn’t done before, but the Jing aspect of it was quite interesting. While I had difficulty capturing my audio with my Jing, I can see how it could be an incredibly useful tool for capturing and presenting presentations. It seems a bit cumbersome for everyday or constant use, but I can definitely see where it would be advantageous in certain situations.

Capture

Commented:

https://dt12b.wordpress.com/2015/03/24/post-9/

https://rachelsinclair4.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/blog-9/comment-page-1/#comment-41

3 thoughts on “Blog Post 10”

  1. I think using skye in the classroom is a great idea. Ive actually read that some scholastic authors will Skype classrooms across the country to have q&a sessions. Its such a great resource!

    Like

  2. I also mentioned using digital cameras! what a great tool to use in the classroom! But I agree that outside that and the computer there isn’t much else you can use. The computer encompasses so much that it can be very multifaceted.

    Like

  3. I like that you mentioned something like Skype as being an educational technology tool. Being able to communicate with students on a need-to-know-now basis is important, but also you can use this tool to complete virtual educational field trips to meet and talk with guest speakers.

    Like

Leave a comment