Post #11

Final blog post!

I didn’t really learn much new stuff from the Excel Assignment. As an engineering student, Excel is a program that I long ago became very proficient with. The assignment did an excellent job of hitting on some of the more useful aspects of Excel. The ability to format and apply formulas to large data sets are what really make it useful. It’s all about analyzing large amounts of data in a much shorter amount of time than it would take to do each one individually.

CaptureThis is the graph for the survey, obviously.

 

My classmates I reviewed talked about DropBox and BrainPOP. Dropbox I am a little more familiar with. It can be useful, but I think integrating it too much as a mandatory thing might lead to issues with the digital divide and those sorts of things. BrainPOP was a neat little website that could be used to stimulate some thought or allow for some educational fun time.

Personally, I would love to get better with video making and the like. Creation of media is something I’m not incredibly familiar with and I think it could augment my knowledge of more technical and practical programs.

If I were to become a teacher, I would definitely try to stay up on the technology curve. I think the key to this is to seek it out on your own. If you go out looking and asking for new advances and new technologies as they come out, rather than waiting for it to come to you and learning it because you have to, it would keep you on the cutting edge. There are several resources for this, by just looking for it and playing around with it a little, you can keep yourself educated.

Commented:

https://rachelsinclair4.wordpress.com/2015/03/29/blog-10/

https://ach13b.wordpress.com/2015/03/29/blog-post-10/

2 thoughts on “Post #11”

  1. Its lucky that you were already familar with Excel prior to this class. I was basically a newbie when it came to anything with spreadsheets. It was kind of challenging at first, but like you said, it is a very useful program. Once you get the basics down, its pretty simple.

    Like

  2. Brain Pop is a great site for teachers! Kids love it and their is a video for just about every concept. If teachers need a fresh new way to present subject material this is a great resource for them! This just keeps the classroom full of variety and keeps the students attention!

    Like

Leave a comment